Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

Choc-PB-banana-smoothie

I haven’t posted in a while because I have been busy with my 3 month old and 3 year old daughters. I also started designing a book and doing some other freelance design work so trying to do all that plus housework and family time leaves me barely any time to keep up my blog.  I still make as much food from scratch as I can for my family and when I have time, I take a photo and post it to my instagram account. I say where the recipe came from or I post a recipe there directly. It is faster and easy for me to keep that up. I am going to try and keep this up as much as I can though because a big reason I have this blog is for me to have recipes saved that we like.

I made this Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie this morning. It is a combination of a couple different recipes I found. I have a feeling I will be making this one a lot.

I use Navita’s Naturals Cacao powder instead of cocoa powder for the chocolate part. Cacao powder is rich in antioxidants, iron, magnesium, and dietary fiber. Here is some info directly from Navita’s Naturals website: “Cacao is a top source of antioxidants, and it contains an abundance of magnesium and iron. To make our cacao powder, the finest cacao beans are milled at low temperature to protect the nutrients and flavor. Our cacao powder is a healthy alternative to conventional over-processed “cocoa” used for baking, hot chocolate, desserts and smoothies.”

Ingredients:
1/2 cup almond milk (or any milk you prefer)
1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
1 tablespoon honey
1 frozen banana
1 tablespoon raw cacao powder
1 tablespoon peanut butter
1 cup ice
Cacao nibs sprinkled on top (optional)

Instructions:
Add all ingredients to a blender and blend it up.

Notes:
I added two bananas this morning but from not on I will just use one. My bananas weren’t frozen and I think it will make a big difference if they were.

Leave a Reply

