Homemade Vegetable Broth

vegetable broth
Making your own vegetable broth is SO easy. I don’t know what took me so long to make it myself. I saved vegetable scraps from salads and other recipes and stored them in the freezer in a gallon size ziplock bag. When the bag was full, I put the vegetables in my crock pot along with some garlic and a bay leaf, filled it with water and cooked on low for 12 hours. Then I strained the broth with a colander and stored the broth in jars in my freezer.  That’s it! 

vegetable broth
I also used vegetables that we didn’t end up using in recipes. I only needed a couple of green onions for something I was making so I chopped the rest and put them in the bag. If you have any vegetables that are about to go bad, you could throw them in there. 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Vegetable Broth

  1. Pingback: Lentil Tacos | Baker's Blender

Leave a Reply

