Lemon-Coconut Bites

lemon coconut bites

I am always looking for healthy snack/treat ideas. This recipe is from My Whole Food Life and my family can’t stop eating them. The original recipe calls them Lemon Larabar Bites because they have all the same ingredients as lemon Larabars. I added shredded coconut and lemon zest for some extra flavor.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 9 medjool dates, pitted (I find these in bulk in the produce section at our Food Co-Op so I only need to get as many as I need)
  • juice and zest from 1 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened shredded coconut plus some extra for rolling the bites in
  • 1-3 tablespoon water

Instructions:
Grind up the almonds and cashews in a food processor. Once they are ground, add in the dates, lemon juice, lemon zest and shredded coconut. You may need to add in a small amount of water if the mixture looks too dry (I ended up adding about 1 tablespoon of water). Once the dough is formed, roll into balls and roll in the shredded coconut (I put the shredded coconut in a shallow bowl to roll the balls in) and place them in the fridge to firm up.

Notes:
I put my mixture in the fridge for a while to firm up before I rolled them into balls because the mixture was very sticky and hard to roll.
I keep the finished bites in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

