Chickpea Patties with Lemon Yogurt Sauce

Chickpea Patties

We eat these Chickpea Patties from Weelicious for dinner a lot. They are easy to make and I usually have most of the ingredients on hand. Weelicious’ website calls them “Garbanzo Burgers” but I feel like “Chickpea Patties” has a better ring to it and that’s just what I’ve always called them. When I first made them, I felt like they were a little bland so I added some parsley and oregano and that helped a lot. I also add spinach or kale. You could eat them with buns but we never do. We top them with avocado slices and dip them in the lemon yogurt sauce. I usually make a double batch and freeze half of it for a later date.

Ingredients for Chickpea Patties:

  • 1 15 oz. can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained and rinsed or 2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1 or 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp parsley
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 cup chopped spinach or kale
  • 1/3 cup bread crumbs (i used whole grain)
  • 2 teaspoons toasted sesame seeds
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • avocado (optional) for topping

Instructions:
Place the first 9 ingredients in a food processor and pulse until combined.

Place the chickpea mixture in a bowl and combine with the bread crumbs and sesame seeds.

Heat oil in a large saute pan over medium high heat.

Place 1/4 cup of mixture in your hands and form into patties (I usually just take 1/4 cup and put it directly in the pan and pat it down with a spatula).

Cook the patties for 5 minutes.

Turn the patties, reduce the heat to low-medium and continue to cook for an additional 5 minutes and serve with avocado slices on top (if using).


Ingredients for Lemon Yogurt Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard

Instructions: 
Combine ingredients and stir or whisk.


Notes:
I recently started cooking these on our griddle. I preheat it to 325 degrees, add a little oil and place the chickpea mixture on there. I can cook a lot more at once than in a saute pan. I reduce the heat to 250 degrees when I flip the patties.

One thought on “Chickpea Patties with Lemon Yogurt Sauce

Leave a Reply

