Whole Wheat Waffles

Image
This recipe came with a waffle maker my parents bought 17 years ago. It is simple and tastes so good. I’ve made a couple changes over the years though. The original recipe calls for all purpose flour and I use whole wheat. I also started using coconut sugar instead of white refined sugar and I add ground flax seeds. My parents always request these waffles when they visit!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder (Bob’s Red Mill has aluminum free)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (I used himalayan pink salt)
  • 1 tsp coconut sugar (or white sugar if that’s what you have on hand)
  • 1/2 TBSP ground flax seeds
  • 1 1/4 cup milk (we use 2% so it’s pretty thick. If you use nonfat, 1 cup might be enough. If the batter seems like it needs more liquid, add a little more milk)
  • 1 egg, separated

Instructions:
Sift dry ingredients together in a bowl (I place all the dry ingredients in a mesh strainer and lightly shake that into the bowl).

Add egg yolk and milk to the dry ingredients and beat together thoroughly.

Beat egg white until stiff (I usually beat this before I beat the egg yolk/milk/dry ingredients), stir 1/4 into batter to lighten it and then gently fold in the remaining egg white.

Pour 1/2-3/4 cup of batter onto the heated waffle mold and follow the directions on the specific waffle maker on how long to keep them on there.

Notes:
I spray my waffle mold with cooking spray before I pour the batter in it.

Leave a Reply

