Banana Muffins

banana muffins

I got this recipe from a girl at one of my mom’s groups. It’s on a print out with a few other recipes and I make them all the time. My daughter and I love muffins but I wanted a healthier recipe instead of one with a ton of sugar so this one is just what I needed! 

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (or greek yogurt)
  • 2 large eggs or 3 medium eggs
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 TBSP ground flax seed (I buy whole flax seeds and grind them in my Magic Bullet)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 ripe bananas (the recipe originally called for 2 bananas but I always put 3)

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray or coconut oil (I used a paper towel and wiped some coconut oil for each muffin) or line muffin tins with silicone or foil liners.

Place the oats in a food processor or blender and pulse for about 10 seconds. Add remaining ingredients to the food processor or blender. (Note: I use my Blendtec to make these and after I grind my oats, I put them in a separate bowl and add them after the other wet ingredients. Otherwise, it doesn’t blend as well with all of them at the bottom of the blender.)

Process until everything is mixed together and oats are smooth.

Divide batter among cupcake liners and bake for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Notes:
I only have one muffin tin so I would store the muffin mix in the fridge while one batch bakes. I noticed that the batch that had been stored in the fridge first would rise more when baking so I started storing all of the mix in the fridge for 15-20 minutes before baking it.

 

Leave a Reply

