Overnight Oats with Buckwheat Groats

Overnight Oats

I started making overnight oats for some of my breakfasts. I mix rolled oats and chia seeds with homemade almond or cashew milk and add different fruits, coconut sugar and sometimes cinnamon and honey. I do this in the evening and let it sit overnight in the fridge.

I follow Food Babe on Facebook and she recently posted a recipe for The Perfect Parfait Porridge where she used oat groats. I had never heard of such a thing so I decided to look for some at our Food Co-Op and try it out. I got some help from a guy working there to find them. They were in the bulk section and he showed me that they also had buckwheat groats. I’ve never heard of those either so I bought a little of each. Oat groats are oat kernels with the hull removed. They contain more vitamins and nutrients than processed rolled oats, steel cut oats or instant oats since they are the truest form of oats. Buckwheat groats are the hulled seeds of the buckwheat plant. Even though buckwheat has “wheat” in the name, it is not actually a grain. It is a fruit seed.

I made my overnight oats last night with the buckwheat groats and some rolled oats. It’s important to soak the oat groats or buckwheat groats before eating or cooking them.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup buckwheat groats (or oat groats)
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats (I decided to use rolled oats along with the buckwheat groats for texture since I have never had the buckwheat groats before. You could also just use rolled oats if you don’t have any groats or only use groats. I will probably use only groats next time since I eat rolled oats in other recipes a lot.)
  • 1 TBL chia seeds (optional but these help thicken up the mixture. I would use less milk if you don’t have chia seeds)
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 3/4 cup almond milk (or any milk you would like. I used my homemade almond milk. I will make a blog post about that shortly.)
  • 1 tsp coconut sugar (or regular sugar or no sugar at all. I added it for just a little added sweetness)
  • 3/4 – 1 cup fresh or frozen berries (I used 8 small organic strawberries. I’ve used a mixture of strawberries and blueberries or raspberries in the past.)
  • a little cinnamon and honey to sprinkle on top (optional)

Instructions:
Place the groats, rolled oats, chia seeds, mashed banana, almond milk and coconut sugar in a glass jar or container and stir. Top the mixture with the fruit of your choice and sprinkle with a little cinnamon and honey. Put a cover on the jar or container and place in the fridge overnight. Stir and enjoy in the morning.

Notes:
I always make more than one jar of these at a time and they usually last around 3 days in the fridge. Most of the time I don’t actually measure the amount of milk I put in so sometimes the mixture comes out too thick so I just add more milk if that happens. If the mixture is too runny for you, you could add more fruit, rolled oats or chia seeds.

Leave a Reply

