Toasted Quinoa Coconut Granola Bars

Image

I’m going to a potluck today for a friend who is moving away so I wanted to make something yummy that would still be somewhat healthy. I came across this recipe on Super Healthy Kids so I thought I would give it a try. Here is a link to the original recipe: http://www.superhealthykids.com/blog-posts/quinoa-coconut-granola-bars.php. I read a lot of the comments on it and it seemed that they turned out dry and hard for some people so I made a few changes and it turned out moist yet crunchy. The original recipe said to use uncooked quinoa but I wanted to cook it first for better digestion. I also soaked my rolled oats for the same reason. I feel like this helped keep them moist. If you want a crunchy bar, you could probably skip soaking the oats and reducing the oil to 1 TBL instead of 1.5 TBL.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 cup oats (I soaked mine for about 30 minutes first)
  • 1/2 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 cup combination of nuts and dried fruit (I used raw cashews, almonds and raisins. I put the nuts in my Magic Bullet to grind them up a bit so my toddler and other little kids wouldn’t have a hard time with the nuts)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter or any nut butter or sunflower seed butter of your choice (I used half peanut butter and half almond butter)
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1.5 TBL coconut oil or canola oil
  • 3 TBL coconut sugar or brown sugar

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a ceramic or glass 9X13 inch baking dish (I used coconut oil for this).  Spread oats and quinoa on a cookie sheet and toast in preheated oven for 17-19 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so. Return mixture to a large bowl and add coconut, nuts, and dried fruit.  In a medium saucepan, combine salt, peanut butter, honey, oil, and sugar. Bring to a boil over medium heat and immediately remove from heat. Pour over oats mixture and combine until dry ingredients are evenly coated. Pour into baking dish. Press mixture down into pan. Bake for 18-20 minutes. Let cool for up to 2 hours and then cut and serve.

For a tastier treat, I took:

  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1 TBL coconut oil

I melted on the stove over low heat and spread it on top of my bars. You could also dip cooled bars into the chocolate mixture. I kept my bars in the fridge.

After my bars were set and cooled, I put some toasted sesame seeds in a bowl and dipped the bars into the seeds for an extra crunch.

Leave a Reply

